The Joy of X-Files

This weekend, I heard the most wonderful news clip on NPR: the second X-Files movie will be released this summer. Here’s more info. This news came on the heels of my discovery of something else that brought me joy: Costco is selling the entire X-Files series, along with the first movie.

I began watching X-Files when I was in high school; the first episode I saw was to do with some scientific research team caught underground with some killer virus or bug or something. At the time, I thought: weird. And it was a weird show, and it was cliche, and its narrative arcs were sometimes ridiculous. But it was still great. The Mulder/Scully dynamic was, of course, brilliant, and sometimes the proto-libertarian bent of the storylines was interesting and, dare I say it, thought provoking. I enjoyed the darkness of the show–the lighting, the music, the character moods–especially when it was paired with sillyness (although this became excessive when the show moved production to LA). But as with all science fiction, what made The X-Files such a joy to watch was its use of the extreme to investigate human and social behavior, from what makes serial killers tick to individual struggles with the role of faith. Don’t get me wrong: The X-Files was just a TV show, and it wasn’t Shakespeare. But it was fun to watch, and I can’t wait for the next film.

Even if Xhibit is in it. Ew.

Leave a Reply

