Staying Up to the Second in the Blogosphere

I’ve been blogging for about a year now, and I still haven’t figured out how to stay on top of comments.  Or rather: I haven’t figured how other people stay so up-to-the-second on comments.  Edge of the West comes to mind–posts there get comments crazy fast.  I was digging on this post and thought I might add something, when I noticed that it had 20 comments in under an hour.  Also this one.

I don’t get it.  How the hell do people stay on top of this?  Constantly clicking on “reload”?  Some application that’s not available to the rest of us?  A super robot equipped with some special laser?  Whatever the secret, it effectively shuts out of the conversation those who aren’t clued in (i.e. me.  There’s also the matter of being more or less utterly ignored at EoftW unless you’re bitchphd, kid blitzer, Charlieford, Vance, urbino, silbey, or PorJ, but that’s besides this particular point).

5 thoughts on “Staying Up to the Second in the Blogosphere

  1. I tend to check back in fairly frequently to a couple of blogs I find congenial. Having said that, it is a problem. I find also that remembering where I’ve made comments (especially if they’re in non-regular blogs) is an issue.

    As to the beside point, I’m personally perfectly happy to be snotty to anyone. Go say something clueless and I’ll be mean to you. 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Silbey–very cool of you. It’s good to know that it’s a matter of diligence; I was beginning to think there was something obvious that I was missing. Now, to make room in the schedule for such diligence…

    Oh, and don’t you worry–as soon as I figure out how to stay on top of comments, you’ll get all the cluelessness from me that you can handle…

  3. Blast you, Google! What with your searching and finding and showing. My apologies to the kind folks at EoftW for my baseless claim. I substituted hurt feelings for recognition that I am less prolific than I wish to be. It was pathetic.

    Or…was it a deliberate “error” designed to provoke a response? Am I that sneaky? Perhaps. Still pathetic, though.

  4. Google reader changes everything in terms of getting in that all-important first few comments window. On the other hand, then you start reading a million blogs and diluting the time you spend at the good ones

    I have noticed at EotAW and other blogs like it that the profusion of commenters does make it a lot less like a conversation and more like a bulletin board; streams of dialog do seem to get pretty fuzzy sometimes. Though ever since I got google reader, I’ve been much less of a commenter, oddly.

Leave a Reply

