What I’m Reading

  • Fun Reading: Narziß und Goldmund by Herman Hesse.  I have had this book for at least five years, and I’ve tried (and failed) to read it at least five times.  It starts with a sentence that takes up most of the first page.  That awful German language indeed, Mr. Twain.
  • Soul Reading: Wealth, Poverty, and Human Destiny, ed. Doug Bandow and David L. Schindler.  A priestly friend of mine (no, seriously, he’s a priest) gave me this probably ten years ago, and I’m going to give it another try.  Looks like it starts off with a bunch of economic liberals spouting off about the glories of capitalism, and then responses to the same.  We’ll see how serious those responses actually are.
  • Theory Reading: Das Kapital I. Yup, still at it.  As a matter of fact, I’m exactly where I was when I posted on this a few months ago.  Sigh.
  • Dissertation Reading: I don’t have anything right now, but I really need something on colonialism.  Suggestions?
  • How-We-Do Reading: On History by Eric Hobsbawm.  A collection of essays by the master himself.  I bought this book eleven years ago while I was living in Berlin.  I found myself in an English-language bookstore for the first time in months, and I went on a spending spree, including this text.  Never read it.  As a matter of fact, I think I’ve only touched it to put it in boxes for moves.  I figure it’s been it at least six different houses/apartments.  About time that I opened up the cover.
4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. Masochism, maybe? 🙂 Really, it’s out of respect for the friend who gave me the book. He’s a smart guy, and wouldn’t give me a book without a good reason. Well, at least that’s been the case in the past. So far, though, I’ve been less than impressed with this text. This may end up back on my shelf sooner rather than later…
    Hope all’s well, MGB.

Leave a Reply

