Eliminating Timesucks

I’ve just killed my Facebook account.  A little over three years ago, I signed up, allegedly because of Facebook’s alleged professional uses.  But I’ve discovered a few things.  First, I’m pretty sure I signed up for Facebook mostly for personal reasons.  Second, Facebook has offered absolutely no professional opportunities, at least for me.  On the contrary, I’ve seen only potential professional liabilities, what with all of my idiot “friends” posting photos of me looking like, well, an idiot.  And third, Facebook can be, and has been on occasion, a huge timesuck.  And not in a fun, oh-let’s-read-something-interesting way.  Rather, it’s brought out some unseemly sides of my character: some narcissism, a little voyeurism, and a whole lot of laziness.  And so it was time for me to leave Facebook, although other people smarter than me have decided to put up with the trouble.

It’s also far past time to identify and eliminate other timesucks. Most will be Internet-based: Twitter, probably, and a few redundant or useless blogs (not that you should do the same thing, dear reader).  I might find a few outside of cyberspace, as well, although nothing comes to mind.  I need to sit down and give some deliberately distribute the hours of my day.  Which is to say I’m going to spend some time thinking about how I spend my time.  Sounds like a timesuck to me.

And in case you’re wondering: yes, watching Euro 2012 is a timesuck.  But I’m doing it anyways.  As I write, in fact.

4 thoughts on “Eliminating Timesucks

  1. You didn’t even mention the biggest American timesuck of all – television! Postman’s “Amusing Ourselves to Death” will convince any sentient being to destroy his set anon.

    • So true about TV! I’ve cut that down to 1.5 hours/week during non-rerun season. And I’ve promised not to start watching any new shows, so when 30 Rock, Community, and Parks and Rec die, I’ll hopefully kick the TV habit. But those lights are awfully bright and shiny…

  2. I suppose congratulations are in order. Besides, you may be a year or three ahead of the rush to abandon Facebook. It’s true that the site is less valuable than it should be — if it were in the hands of adults, say.

    I’m still on Facebook and have stopped thinking actively of leaving, but I fool myself into thinking I’m in control of the expenditure of time.

    • Not sure that I’m due any congratulations (although I take them whenever offered…)–like most things in my life, momentum pretty much did the work for me. But it did take an odd amount of willpower to cut the cord. Weird, especially since I barely ever used it!

Leave a Reply

